For many people, a gluten free and grain free diet can solve their health issues. For some, just a gluten free diet will do the trick. But what’s the difference and which is best?
Differences between Grain Free and Gluten Free Diet
1. Oats, Corn, and Rice are Grains
Wheat, barley, and rye contain gluten. Avoiding those may be enough for some. But after a few months, you may discover that you are not feeling your best. If that is the case, avoiding all grains may be required to completely relieve symptoms.
2. Hidden Gluten and Gluten Mimicking Foods
If you are trying to be completely gluten free, watch out for hidden sources. Instant coffee and rice can contain flour as a filler. Beer contains gluten and corn unless it is specifically labeled otherwise. Gluten can even be found in make up, medication, sweets, ice cream, sauces, paint, sunscreens and even lipstick. If you are trying to be grain free, products labeled gluten-free may still contain corn, oats, and rice. Another problem for people trying to to be gluten free is dairy. Research has identified that dairy proteins can affect as much as 50% of those with gluten problems. Read more at https://www.glutenfreesociety.org/is-dairy-sabotaging-your-gluten-free-healing/#uT6YAD0WIQwwHwaq.99
3. Pseudo Grains
Some of the pseudo grains are amaranth, buckwheat, chia and quinoa. Some health practitioners feel that these can contribute to inflammation as well as gluten. The best advice is to start with a gluten free diets. If after a couple of months you still, or start to feel discomfort, go to a grain free diet. And if that doesn’t do the trick, eliminate the pseudo grains.